Gender & Human Rights in Somalia- Ubah´s story - Reisverslag uit Mogadishu, Somalië van Sahro Ahmed Koshin - WaarBenJij.nu Gender & Human Rights in Somalia- Ubah´s story - Reisverslag uit Mogadishu, Somalië van Sahro Ahmed Koshin - WaarBenJij.nu

Gender & Human Rights in Somalia- Ubah´s story

Door: Sahro Ahmed

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sahro Ahmed Koshin

16 September 2009 | Somalië, Mogadishu

I say bravo to Ubah for standing up against the mainstream sickening qabil-tribalist ideology still being practised today in Somalia and for following her heart and mind. She deserves a medal of recognition of the highest standards in my opinion.

SOMALIA: Ubah Abdi Adood, "I am sure if we return we will be killed"


NAIROBI, 15 September 2009 (IRIN) - In the eyes of her family and relatives, Ubah Abdi Adood committed a serious crime by marrying a man from the "wrong" clan.

Adood, 29, fled her home at the end of 2008 not because of fighting but because of threats and beatings from those closest to her. Adood's husband, Mahamud Abdi, is from one of Somalia's marginalized minority groups, the Madiban.

Minority groups such as the Madiban, Gabooyo and Tumal, are often discriminated against, mostly for the work they do, such as shoemaking and iron-smelting. Though Somalis and Muslims, these minority groups have traditionally never married into the larger Somali clans and do not mix with them socially. Adood spoke to IRIN on 15 September:

"I knew Mahamud [husband] before we got married. We both grew up in Galkayo in the same area. But because of his clan, I never really paid any attention to him. I was married off young to a man who died shortly afterwards, and my family then married me off again - but that marriage ended up in a divorce.

"We met again in 2007 and we started seeing each other secretly. I fell in love with him. He is kind, gentle and handsome. I adore him.

"We decided to get married in secret. We did it in July 2007. That is when all my problems started. My family and relatives found out and immediately wanted me to get a divorce. I refused. I was beaten repeatedly by my brothers, cousins and uncles. He [Mahamud] was threatened and on one occasion shot at. He fled to the south side of Galkayo [the town is partly in Puntland and partly in south-central Somalia].

"My relatives found out that I was pregnant with Mahamud's child and tried to force me to abort. I had to sleep in friends' homes or hotels to evade them.

"My mother was the only one who tried to protect me. At one time they broke my mother's arm while she was trying to protect me from the beatings.

"I told them my husband is Muslim and that is all I care. I didn’t break any laws, but they would not listen.

"Finally, my mother and I decided that I should leave before they killed me.

"I am now in Nairobi but even here I don’t feel safe. I was recently attacked and now I stay indoors. I don’t go anywhere. My husband fled to Ethiopia. I hope we will be reunited soon in a place we can both feel safe.

"I know we will never be able to return to our homes and live in peace. I am sure if we return to Galkayo we will be killed."


Theme(s): (IRIN) Conflict, (IRIN) Gender Issues, (IRIN) Human Rights


http://www.irinnews.org/Report.aspx?ReportId=86159

  • 16 September 2009 - 01:39

    Shukri:

    i cant believe this!
    is soo sad, tribe is what killed us and they r still practice it
    is horible


  • 16 September 2009 - 01:42

    Nin Qabil Lahan:

    waa wax laga naxo ruunti, siday ay uu dilaan gabhada waay xuntahay, bal nederlandka ha siyaan assylum gabadha iyo wilkaba.

  • 16 September 2009 - 12:39

    Mohamed:

    Sahra, thank you for this. I thought really that this things happened secretly, but this woman is talking about it so publicy.
    really i am ashamed of our people.

  • 16 September 2009 - 12:43

    Maxamoud:

    oo soo madhilayaan labadooda ba haday misna isku arkaan?!


  • 16 September 2009 - 12:44

    Amal:

    I also wouldnt mind congratulating this lady pesonaly, she is our hero!

  • 16 September 2009 - 16:25

    Faisal:

    Again, you have us speechless Sah. What can one say!

    Love your wits,
    F

  • 17 September 2009 - 16:48

    Abdi:

    thank u sahra for sharing this with us.
    Please keep on sharing news from somalia with us.

    your brother, abdirahman

  • 19 September 2009 - 00:42

    Fatima:

    Sahra! This is happ still in the world???????

    Ya Allah!
    Help us

  • 21 September 2009 - 07:05

    Deeq:

    sahro walaahi waaka helay abaayo masawiro aad u qurux badan iyo waqti ad u fiican aa soo qadatay

  • 24 September 2009 - 23:10

    Abdirizack:

    This is against fundamental human rights of people. This lady followed hert, i would too and i am sure the ones punishing her would too or already did.

    What a shame!
    Down with qaabiil! down down down!

    Thanks sahra for sharing walaalo. u r amazing....
    but plz be careful!

  • 26 September 2009 - 01:54

    Carly:

    Dear Sahro, thank you for keeping us in touch with what is happening in Somalia! A big hug from here in Colombia, Carly

  • 28 Februari 2010 - 20:38

    Ahmed Ali:

    that is threu story iam one of the puntland youth ilive in yemen my e mail is talaabo10@yahoo.com if you wants other stores like this please contact me because i now mor peaple happened like this store

    thank you

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sahro Ahmed Koshin

Hallo and welcome to my travel-weblog. I usually write stuff on this site when i am travelling.... Thanks for dropping-by and do remember to leave a note as you do! Salaams!! Sahro. M. Ahmed

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 1213
Totaal aantal bezoekers 135267

Voorgaande reizen:

03 Februari 2012 - 03 November 2013

Post-conflict reconstruction in Somalia

19 Februari 0000 - 30 November -0001

Realising Bur Salah Mother and Child Health Center

Landen bezocht: